Any colour as long as it’s blue

Blue Brighton Beach hut
Blue Brighton Beach hut

I used to live in house with blue shutters, blue front door and drove a blue car. My trench was blue, my boots were blue, my bag was blue. It was pointed out to me by a good friend that I had become that song ‘Blue House’ by Eiffel 65. Yikes. When did this happen? I quickly injected some red and white (because there’s nothing like a bit of red, white and blue is there?). I also explored the pinks, minks, greys and charcoals. But when it comes down to it, I just can’t help myself when it comes to blue. I love blue. Some women covert a wardrobe full of little black dresses but mine is all about the little blue dress. Ah heavenly blue.

Yves Klein 'IKB 79' at the Tate, London (honestly)
Yves Klein ‘IKB 79’ at the Tate, London (honestly)
My favourite little blue dresses of the season include a great inky navy ‘wash and go’ one from HotSquash. Its ingenious design helps you stay cool in the summer and it doesn’t need ironing…seriously how good is that? And ‘Naomi’ a fabulous cobalt blue swishy dress with a bit of grecian influence from Baukjen (in the sale now!). That’s my summer wardrobe sorted. I’ll be the one in blue fantasising about having Gin and Tonics on the porch of that blue house on Martha’s Vineyard.
Gathered shoulder 'wash and go' dress from Hotsquash
Gathered shoulder ‘wash and go’ dress from Hotsquash
Super chic jersey dress in cobalt blue from Baukjen
Super chic jersey dress in cobalt blue from Baukjen
Me in a blue dress (Petit Bateau) blowing bubbles for my birthday girl (25th June 2013)
Me in a blue dress (Petit Bateau) blowing bubbles for my birthday girl (25th June 2013)
One of many blue houses at Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard. Fancy a G&T on that porch?
One of many blue houses at Oak Bluffs, Martha’s Vineyard. Fancy a G&T on that porch?

Leave a Reply

