Ville de Brighton goes to The Lakes

The Leven Estuary, over looking the Lakeland Fells and Morecambe Bay (at sunset)
The Leven Estuary, over looking the Lakeland Fells and Morecambe Bay (at sunset)

I had to go to Cumbria for work. It took 7.5 hours to get back to Brighton. When I set foot on Sussex soil, boy was I pleased. But there is something special about Cumbria and the Lake District. It’s amazingly, eye-openingly, breath-takingly beautiful (I apologise for all the ‘lys’ but it just is). I’ve been twice in six months (once to Ambleside and once to Ulverston…the birth place of Stan Laurel of ‘Laurel and Hardy’) and have only had the minimum amount of time to gaze across the various water in-lets and lakes that I visited (one of my favourite past times). Next time I want to join the roving Americans, Chinese and Swedish travellers who I met, and do more water gazing, more walking and more sitting by log fires…but I would avoid the M25 at rush hour on the way home.

Lake Windermere, Cumbria (March 2013)
Lake Windermere, Cumbria (March 2013)
The shifting sands and tide in the beautiful Leven Estuary, Cumbria
The shifting sands and tide in the beautiful Leven Estuary, Cumbria

Stay and eat: Wateredge Inn, Borrans Road, Ambleside, Cumbria, LA22 0EP (The best place to stay in Ambleside…so close to Lake Windermere, you’re almost in it! Beautiful setting, wonderful hotel, great hosts and fabulous food).

Eat: The Bay Horse Hotel, Canal Foot, Ulverston, Cumbria, LA12 9EL (Truly good food with beautiful views over the Leven Estuary…I also stayed here, but didn’t rate the accommodation…)

3 thoughts on “Ville de Brighton goes to The Lakes

  1. Loved this pictures, my papa lives in the Lake District and although i’ve not been up for over a
    year now it always looks different and I love to explore up there! Can’t wait to take the baby when she’s a little older!

  2. I did my MSc in Lancaster 8 years ago and Lake District was so close that I visited a couple of times. I really liked Windermere, Ambleside, Grasmere and Keswick. On a sunny day the lakes and villages look wonderful!

Leave a Reply

