Bébé chic – J’adore French children’s clothes…

My favourite Petit Bateau dress for little G
My favourite Petit Bateau dress for little G, her Christmas pressie last year that she’s worn and worn, and is still wearing!

I’m a teeny bit in love with classic French children’s style (no suprise I guess as I’m a bit of a Francophile mama). Simple dresses, the odd bow and peter pan collar (or the col Claudine or Claudine collar as it’s known in France). I love the simplicity and the classic, old fashioned style, which makes cute children look even cuter (in my book)…until they take over with their own ‘style’…yes, I know it’s coming and the overwhelming love for the ‘tutu’ is an example, so I had better enjoy this style obsession while I can.

Some of my favourite Frenchy inspired mini fashionista finds:

  • Petit Bateau – yes, the original, the classic and still the best stripes in the business
  • Château de Sable– for simple, understated kiddy chic…their bag is gorgeousness in itself…(they are based in Chester UK with fabulous customer service)
  • Marie Puce – for simple dresses, with ‘retro’ Liberty collars…I love (apparently they do a roaring trade in ‘size 18 ans’ for big girls…aka mummy)
  • Weekend sur la Mer (for the best little yellow fishman’s rain cape…from Mamissima, Brighton)

Yes, they are all on the pricey side (Like HOW much for a child’s dress?), but keep an eye on the sales when you can pick up an outfit for the same price as many highstreet stores (also visit Mamissima for a good Brighton selection). My other reliable for cute, chic, cheap outfits is Vertbaudet…sign up and take advantage of their many offers. Oh and when in France, get thee to the supermarché…for a good selection of well priced kiddy clothes.

Chateau de Sable...with another peter pan collar...
Chateau de Sable…with another peter pan collar…on my wish list…
Marie Puce...another one on my wish list (a mummy can dream)
Marie Puce…another one on my wish list (a mummy can dream)

Leave a Reply

