How do I love thee? A Valentine’s Ode

Screen Shot 2014-02-08 at 17.30.48

Valentine’s Day is not for me (surprisingly, as I’m such a big romantic). Seeing as we have our own anniversaries throughout the year to celebrate (days just for us)…it seems silly to get on the commercial bandwagon.

So, in a nod to today…i gigi…How do I love thee? Let me count the ways*…(yes, you’re a shop and you won’t bring me flowers but I don’t care).

I love thee to the depth and breadth and height of your fabulous vintage chandeliered ceilings, lovely curved staircase and serene little outside space. I love thee from your bespoke candles and room fragrances, to the glass jars, coffee cups, utilitarian but chic earthen wares and kitchen goodies; to your sublimely simple neutral rugs and furniture.

I love the way the front of the store always looks so utterly understated but oh so inviting when I walk past, with a clever use of zinc planters and wooden boxes filled with simple green plants and gorgeous blue hydrangeas. But most of all I love thee for your upstairs café with the best rarebit and cream tea I’ve had in the whole of Brighton and Hove…yes, it’s true…the best in the whole city. i gigi…I heart you.

* Thanks to Elizabeth Barrett Browning for letting me be inspired by her poem this Valentine’s Day.

Where: i gigi General Store & Café, 31A Western Road and i gigi Women’s Boutique, 37 Western Road, Hove, East Sussex. BN3 1AF

Screen Shot 2014-02-11 at 14.19.04

Screen Shot 2014-02-11 at 14.19.46

Screen Shot 2014-02-11 at 14.20.48

Screen Shot 2014-02-11 at 14.21.50

Leave a Reply

