Brighton Bloggers Photography Workshop


1ab

Hands up whose camera setting is stuck in ‘auto mode’? Yup, me, often. So when the lovely people at Currys invited me along to a photography workshop with a group of other fabulous Brighton bloggers, I immediately said yes.

So on one of the hottest days of the year, I went into a dark basement at the Brighton Media Centre to spend time with 25 other bloggers and get schooled by local photographer Dade Freeman. I’ve picked up books but struggled to grasp the technicalities of shooting, so I started the session knowing not a lot about ISO, aperture and shutter speed…and ended it feeling quite chuffed that I was out of ‘auto mode’ and into AV…the photographer’s button of choice (apparently, unless you are a pro) where I can make things happen!

What I learnt:

  • ISO – the most important thing to look at first…the measure of a camera sensor’s sensitivity to light (how bright or how dark the day or scene is)
  • Aperture – size of the opening of the lens when a pic is taken (you boost the depth if you want more detail)
  • Shutter – controls length of time the shutter is open…shutter effects motion.

So from the technical…to the programs:

  • P = program – allowing you to control ISO only
  • S/TV = shutter priority – allows you to control shutter and ISO only
  • AV = aperture priority – allows you to control the aperture and ISO only
  • M = manual – gives you full control over the ‘exposure triangle’

Once we had swotted up, filled our tummies with lunch, we were off onto the streets of Brighton for a photo challenge. It turns out that my biggest challenge is seeing the screen in the glare of the sunlight. I don’t have a viewfinder on my Pentax and in the bright sunlight, I was basically shooting blind as I couldn’t tell if any of my tweaks to numbers and settings were making much of a difference…nor did I know if anything was in focus! Blast. However, on a plus note, when I entered the room with my ‘mirror less’ camera, everyone else was cradling their DSLR cameras and I felt a bit disconnected…until Dade enthused about mirror less cameras and it turns out I’m actually ahead of the camera curve. Smug chuckle.

Pentax K-01

 

I also connected with a great set of bloggers. There were faces I knew but also new ones. My back row buddies were Georgie St.Clair, a brilliant Brighton illustrator (who I felt I already knew a little from our Twitter chats) and Tora Baker (the next big thing in wedding photography). I’ve already checked out others posts from the event and there are some wonderful photos that make me wince in embarrassment, but folks you have to start somewhere…perhaps getting it in focus is a start for me?

#LightsCameraCurrys
A bit of blurred carousel action, big balloons which I just loved, some of the blogging gals and the whole gang (I’m pretty much bang in the middle)
#LightsCameraCurrys
Framing…and using the magic power of ‘thirds’ in photo composition…my favourite shot of the day I took…
Practicing my shots…notice the blurred background? I did that on purpose, see?
Practicing my shots…notice the blurred background? I did that on purpose, see?
Trying to have blurred naked riders but a clear shot of my daughter having a look…I would have liked her to have had more 'light' but I know what I'm aiming for now
Trying to have blurred naked riders but a clear shot of my daughter having a look…(this was in my post course family coffee catch up)
Another shot of wedding photographer Tora Baker…I really like this photo...
Another shot of wedding photographer Tora Baker…I really like this photo…

Thanks to lovely people at Currys and Dade Freeman for an excellent workshop. And to the other Brighton Bloggers, I can’t wait to read your posts #LightsCameraCurrys

 Here are some other posts on the event to check out by:

Georgie St.Clair

Tora Baker 

Coffee and Vanilla

More about Cat 

City Coastal Life & Style

 

12 thoughts on “Brighton Bloggers Photography Workshop

Leave a Reply

