Pom pom spring bird crafting

pom pom bird

There’s been a gaggle of wool hanging around chez Ville de Brighton for a while. With not enough for anything useful, I suddenly had the urge to make pom poms (one of my favourite quiet pastimes when I was younger). I announced my ‘pom pom plans’ in the office, which then started off a whole ‘thing’ for pom poms…who knew? I found a great website (Red Ted Art) that gave me even more inspiration (check out that pom pom rain cloud!).

Pom pom rain cloud…souce: www.redtedart.com
Pom pom rain cloud…souce: http://www.redtedart.com

 

So step one…add some more wool to the gaggle I already have. My colleagues suggested a new wool shop in the North Laine…YAK..where the owner couldn’t have been more helpful in my quest for pom pom wool (amongst the knitting aficionados).

Step two…dig out some cardboard to make those two circle disks to loop the wool (an old Strepsils pack worked for me).

Step three…get wrapping.

Step four…realise that it actually takes ages! I started on Saturday pm…did some on Saturday night and then had a session on Sunday pm…all for one pom pom! Mid wrapping I suddenly wondered if I was doing it right. I haven’t done this in maybe 20 years? And so I resort to google. And guess what comes top of search? ‘How to make pom poms quickly’. So yes, I see in the age of speed and limited attention spans that even a leisurely pursuit like this still finds people wanting to do it more quickly.

Initially I’m bemused by this, but then I think, okay, I’ve promised to make a whole bird family with Little G (and birds…or fairies…for various family members)…and at this rate it will take forever, so yes, I’m open to speeding things up. After creating a big fat fluffy bird (with sticky yellow beak, googly eyes and card board wings) it’s been a long but pleasurable experience. Yes, Little G got bored with the process (and had a picnic instead…totally understandable for a 3 and 3/4 year old) but she was right there at the end full of excitement at the transformation. And guess what? I’m itching to get wrapping again!

pom pom bird

 

Where: YAK,16 Gloucester Road, Brighton, BN1 4AD (for all your woolly needs!)

Where: Red Ted Art…online and a great Facebook page for good creative ideas (and a book too!)

4 thoughts on “Pom pom spring bird crafting

  1. Hi darling

    Love your bird and thought what a lovely gift the rain cloud would be for a baby. Keep crafting. LOL Ma xxxxxx

    Sent from my iPad

    On 23 Mar 2015, at 14:18, Ville de Brighton wrote:

    WordPress.com Ville de Brighton posted: ” There’s been a gaggle of wool hanging around chez Ville de Brighton for a while. With not enough for anything useful, I suddenly had the urge to make pom poms (one of my favourite quiet pastimes when I was younger). I announced my ‘pom pom plans’ in t”

Leave a Reply

